Throughout the year, WIM UK organises a variety of events for our members and friends – ranging from networking drinks and educational panels to technical presentations and professional development workshops. Please click through the calendar below to view our latest schedule. Everyone is welcomed, regardless of gender!

Due to COVID-19 restrictions around the world, all of our events have been postponed or moved to an online forum for the time being.  We look forward to seeing you all again soon but until then we hope that you, your families and friends keep safe and healthy during these unprecedented times.  In the meantime, visit our COVID-19 Resources page, which is regularly updated with links to interesting webinars and talks that will keep you entertained and informed.

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

#BlackinGeoscience Week

September 7

This week is #BlackinGeoscience Week. Join the group today for three Geosphere Day Panel Discussions

11:00 AM EST/ 4.00 PM BST –  PURSUING AN EDUCATION AND CAREER IN GEOSCIENCE: This panel discussion focuses on preparing for the field of geoscience. Topics covered will range from preparing for academia (undergrad/grad/PhD) to pursuing an education and career in geology. Panelists will share their own experiences of adversities they have overcome in the geology field.

2:00 PM EST/ 7.00 PM BST – WE ROCK! HIGHLIGHTING RESEARCH AREAS IN GEOSCIENCE: This panel discussion focuses on Black geoscientists who specialize in sub-fields of geoscience that may not be well known to everyone (i.e. minerals industry, volcanology, remote sensing, mathematical geology). Panelists will showcase how research areas in the geosciences are endless and valuable in their own ways.

4:00 PM EST/ 9.00 PM BST –  #GEORACISM: This panel discussion focuses on preparing for the field of geoscience. Topics covered will range from preparing for academia (undergrad/MS/PhD) to pursuing a career in geology. Panelists will share their own experiences of racism and adversity they have overcome in the geology field.

Register here.

Details

Date:
September 7